Author Topic: Foam Articulate Burrowing Nymph  (Read 5038 times)

Dron Lee

• 5 Star Member
    • View Profile
Foam Articulate Burrowing Nymph
« on: August 22, 2013, 01:33:23 AM »

Re-look into the old pattern, this one is much easier to tie, playing with Palmer Chenille as the gills which the 'blink blink' effect may looks like air bubbles trap at the abdomen..

Materials:

Palmer Chenille by Wapsi
1.5mm thick close cell foam
40lbs hard wire
TMC 105 Egg fly hook size 6
Pheasant tail fibers
Goose Biots
Dubbing
Marker

Step by step tying instructions:

http://dronsworld.blogspot.com/2013/08/arituvale-burrowing-foam-nymph-v20.html

Mike Learmonth

• Canadian Youth National Fly Fishing Team Assistant Coach
  • 5 Star Member
    • View Profile
Re: Foam Articulate Burrowing Nymph
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2013, 07:21:06 AM »
very nice Dron!

can you explain to me how to heat and bend the goose biot legs? I've never done that before but it adds a great dimension to the fly. This pattern looks quite adaptable to our BC stillwaters .
Team Kingfisher member

Chris Puchniak

• Administrator
  • 5 Star Member
  • Cloverdale, BC, Canada
    • View Profile
    • Skookum's Fly Box
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2013, 07:45:22 AM »
Dron, your flies are just too nice to get wet...

I like the idea of the bent biots as well.  I suppose in a pinch you might use knotted pheasant tail fibers in groups of 3-4, which might give a little more movement.  But those biot legs look very impressive!
I will fish anywhere and find beauty in it.

Don't be a Pessimist. Don't be an Optimist.  Be a Realist and change when you need to.

Dron Lee

• 5 Star Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2013, 11:50:18 PM »
very nice Dron!

can you explain to me how to heat and bend the goose biot legs? I've never done that before but it adds a great dimension to the fly. This pattern looks quite adaptable to our BC stillwaters .