Summary - Alex Berger


Offline Offline
Name:
Alex Berger
Posts:
884 (0.525 per day)
Position:
5 Star Member

Gender:
Male Male
Age:
N/A
Location:
Italy
Date Registered:
April 14, 2013, 04:36:17 AM
Last Active:
January 17, 2017, 12:20:00 PM

Contact Me :)

Email
hidden

My Buddies

I haven't added my buddies yet.

Profile Pictures

Currently, there are no pictures.

About Me

I was born in Bozen, Sud Tirol, the German speaking Italian province bordering Austria.  I have been married since 1972. I live in the countryside  with together  my wife and 3 four-legged friends (two German Sheprads and a Shitzu).   I have two grown up kids who live an work abroad.
I am self employed petroleum engineer and have traveled world wide since 1972.

My Interests

I was first introduced to fly fishing by my father in late 1950's.
I used to  caddy for him as he fished mountain streams and lakes in the Dolmities.  He talked about reading currents, May flies, midges, caddis, casting, tying, dry flies, etc, etc, etc.  
I was pretty bored at first and listened out of respect.  Some years later it all came together!

I find fly fishing relaxing, it allows me to reflect on my life, and helps me sort things out.    I fish only fish mountain torrents,  streams and rivers.  Always with dry fly, catch and release. Pleased to say I never lost a fish, what I caught and released  could swimm away!

My favorite rods are LOOP, Gatti and Sage.  Among favorite reels are  Vivarelli and Able.

In the past I have fly fished in few places including  Switzerland, Austria, Slovenia,Croatia, Serbia, Bosnia, France, England, Scotland, Ireland, Eastern Hokaido, Japan (Nishibetsu, Shari and Churi rivers),  Kazakhstan (TianShan) and the very extensively  Russian Federation (Urals & Russian Far East ) the  USA etc.  However, my favorite trout streams are my home waters.
I fly fish to the exclusions of everything else!
Signature:
"Oh I live to be the ruler of life not a slave..
Walt Whitman

Local Time:
November 23, 2017, 01:51:08 AM

Add comment


There are no comments. Would you like to add first?