Author Topic: The History of the Doug Austin Memorial Trophy and the Recipients of this Award  (Read 1261 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Todd Oishi

  • Administrator
  • 5 Star Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5880
  • Maple Ridge, B.C., Canada
    • View Profile
    • North American Loch-Style Fly Fishing Championship

The Doug Austin Memorial Trophy was created in 2004 and donated by Jack Simpson (the founder of Fly Fishing Canada) to honour the memory of his deceased son-in-law, Doug Austin, who was a passionate fly fisher and competitor at the 1st Canadian National Fly Fishing Championships, which were held in Russell, Manitoba in 2003.

The Doug Austin Memorial Trophy was first presented at the 2004 NFFC in Kenauk, Quebec, and is presented each year to the Individual Gold Medalist at the Canadian National Fly Fishing Championships for finishing as the "top rod" (1st place individually) at the Canadian National Fly Fishing Championships.

Here is the list of the recipients of the Doug Austin Memorial Trophy:
2004: Randy Taylor               - Team Ottawa
2005: Todd Oishi                   - Team Mustang
2006: Terence Courtoreille     - Team NWT
2007: Norm Rupprecht          - Team Riseform
2008: Michael Lennox           - Team River Tawdz
2009: John Nishi                  - Team Cormorant
2010: Terence Courtoreille    - Team Cormorant
2011: Randy Taylor              - Team Airflo
2012: Colin Huff                   - Canadian Youth Team
2013: Robert Stroud             - Team Cormorant
2014: Jean Francois Lavallee - Team EnDiable
2015: Calin Lumperdean        - Team Merganser
2016: Todd Oish                    - Team Cormorant
2017: Jim Iredale                  - Team EnDiable
2018: Terence Courtoreille     - Team Endiable

( edited to update the names of the recipients )

« Last Edit: July 18, 2018, 10:13:41 AM by Todd Oishi »
For me, the quality of a trout is not measured in inches or pounds, but rather by the journey and circumstances that allowed our paths to cross...