Author Topic: Breaking Thread  (Read 1216 times)

Jon Baker

• View Profile
Breaking Thread
« on: August 28, 2019, 01:44:01 PM »
I am new to fly tying, have more experience tying salmon flies, but even that is not a whole lot.  I have started tying trout flies lately and real having a hard time not breaking thread.  I used 6/0 Danville or Kevlar thread for my salmon flies and never broke much, but now that I have been tying smaller flies I have been using 8/0 waxed uni thread and having a lot of issues with breaking, I feel that I am not pulling that hard at all but all I can think is that I must be!!  does anyone have any tips or tricks to help with this?

Stanton Jack

• Fly Fishing Canada Member
  • 5 Star Member
    • View Profile
Re: Breaking Thread
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2019, 02:16:40 PM »
Hi Jon, I break 8/0 dot quite a bit myself... I actually only use the stuff for hot spot collars because of the attractor colours it comes in. Maybe try UTC 70. It's what I use for my standard freshwater tying, and then UTC 140 for body tapers or if I'm building up a base (glueing on a sculpin head or something). Hopefully that helps :)
"Someday the mountain might get me, but the law never will" - Waylon Jennings

Chris Puchniak

• Administrator
  • 5 Star Member
  • Cloverdale, BC, Canada
    • View Profile
    • Skookum's Fly Box
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2019, 04:49:38 PM »
It can be the quality of the thread too.  I use semperfli and sheer, some of those 12/0 or so, and the strength is much better. 

Of course avoid the obvious stuff like hitting the hook point, having sandpaper like hands (lol), etc.
I will fish anywhere and find beauty in it.

Don't be a Pessimist. Don't be an Optimist.  Be a Realist and change when you need to.

Francois Dallaire

• 5 Star Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2019, 05:52:27 PM »